16 Jun 2015

CETEM and the City Council of Yecla award the prizes of the 11th Design Olympiad

The contest 'Design your furniture' was aimed at young people between 12 and 16 years old, and among the winners this year are a cube that transforms into various furniture pieces or a room designed for future generations.

The Technology Centre of Furniture and Wood of the Region of Murcia (CETEM) and City Council of Yecla presented this week the winners of the Design Olympiad, which this year celebrated its 11th edition and in which more than 4,000 children have participated in total in the set of all editions.

The main objective of the contest is to promote the interest in technology among young people and disseminate the culture of design and innovation as part of YECLA 5.0 project, carried out in collaboration between the City Council of Yecla and CETEM and financed by the Spanish Foundation for Science and Technology (FECYT).

The competition, as in previous years, has two categories. In the first one, with participants from 1st and 2nd of ESO, the winners were Natalia Ferrándiz Romero, from IES Jose Luis Castillo Puche of Yecla, winner of the 1st prize for designing a cube that becomes a table with two chairs; Carmen Victoria Gascón Juan, from IES Felipe VI of Yecla, winner of the 2nd prize for creating a gaming table with different boards to play; and Eloy Ortega Hernández, from Colegio La Inmaculada de Yecla, winner of the 3rd prize for his idea of a hammock that is at the same time a bicycle.

In the second category, with participants from 3rd and 4th of ESO, the winners were Pamela Jiménez Cañar, from IES Marhuenda Prats of Pinoso, winner of the 1st prize for creating an intelligent room for future generations; Juan Francisco Asensi, from IES J. Martínez Ruiz 'Azorín' of Yecla, , winner of the 2nd prize for designing a table-cabinet made up from recycled cans; and David Simón Serradilla, from IES Infanta Elena of Jumilla, winner of the 3rd prize for inventing a special chair that allows you to hang your purse.

A professional jury assessed the 400 projects presented, about 270 belonging to the 1st category and around 130 in the 2nd category.



1st Prize: Natalia Ferrándiz Romero (IES José Luis Castillo Puche, Yecla).


2nd Prize: Carmen Victoria Gascón Juan (IES Felipe VI, Yecla).


3rd Prize: Eloy Ortega Hernández (Colegio La Inmaculada, Yecla).


1st Prize:: Pamela Cañar Jiménez (IES Marhuenda Prats, Pinoso).


2nd Prize: Francisco Juan Asensi (IES J. Martínez Ruiz ‘Azorín’, Yecla).


3rd Prize: David Simón Serradilla (IES Infanta Elena, Jumilla).